Why My Illness Helped Me

Changed My Life

One day while I was doing the shopping me and my young son, something happened that changed my life. We had just come out of the Supermarket and my son got into the car. Just as I was about to get in my right arm and leg went out of control. The sight in my right eye became glazed, and I could not work out what was happening. I managed to hold on to the car with my left hand and got into the car. I did not know at the time but I was having a stroke known as a TIA. I managed to get the attention of a man passing by and he called an Ambulance.

My life was Ending As I Knew It

At the hospital I discovered that I had just suffered from a TIA Stroke, and my whole life was appearing to change before my eyes. I was now in a ward of a hospital, paralysed by this stroke on my right hand side. I was in hospital a few days then I made a decision. It looked as though my life was ending as I had known it. But something happened, and it started with a thought, I made up in my mind that I was going to recover.

Determined to Walk Again

Even though I could not feel my right leg I decided that even if I had to get up and hop on my left leg I would try to walk like that. So I moved to the edge of the bed and put weight on my left leg. Because I had done martial arts training in my early life I knew that I could balance on one leg. I successfully stood up on my left leg, but I could not feel my right leg. I said that I had to try to put weight on my right leg, as I did the leg felt strange but I was able to move with my right leg.

I Proved The Advice Wrong, A Made Up Mind

Over the next few weeks I went from strength to strength, soon I was exercising in the bathroom in the hospital. And eventually I was able to walk well enough to go into the hospital gardens. By having a made up mind I soon was out of hospital and had made a good recovery. I had been told that I would not be able to drive, cycle and play the piano again. But I had proved all that advice wrong, because I was determined I was able to make a full recovery. My goal was to recover and because I had made up in my mind that I would do whatever it took to recover I succeeded. I found that the mind can be very powerful, and it is important the thoughts that we allow. People had told me that I would never cycle again, but because I made up my mind to recover and to do all the things I did before I succeeded.

Always have Faith

It is important in life to set your goals, but have complete faith that you will succeed. Always work towards the things that you want to succeed at and never doubt that you will achieve it. I exercised everyday while I was in the hospital. I was very determined to recover and I had complete faith that I would. So always have faith and work towards your dreams.

MGA Brown is the Author of winning book “Thoughts To Make You Think”
to find out how you can benefit go to Http://www.toolsofsuccess.co.uk/

This entry was posted in Self Improvement - Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment